Keynote Speakers

ICFCM2022 Keynote Speakers

Prof. Ramesh K. Agarwal

Washington University in St. Louis, USA

Biography: Professor Ramesh K. Agarwal is the William Palm Professor of Engineering in the department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science at Washington University in St. Louis. From 1994 to 2001, he was the Sam Bloomfield Distinguished Professor and Executive Director of the National Institute for Aviation Research at Wichita State University in Kansas. From 1978 to 1994, he was the Program Director and McDonnell Douglas Fellow at McDonnell Douglas Research Laboratories in St. Louis. Dr. Agarwal received Ph.D in Aeronautical Sciences from Stanford University in 1975, M.S. in Aeronautical Engineering from the University of Minnesota in 1969 and B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India in 1968. Over a period of forty years, Professor Agarwal has worked in various areas of Computational Science and Engineering - Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD), Computational Materials Science and Manufacturing, Computational Electromagnetics (CEM), Neuro-Computing, Control Theory and Systems, and Multidisciplinary Design and Optimization. He is the author and coauthor of over 500 journal and refereed conference publications. He has given many plenary, keynote and invited lectures at various national and international conferences worldwide in over fifty countries. Professor Agarwal continues to serve on many academic, government, and industrial advisory committees. Dr. Agarwal is a Fellow eighteen societies including the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS), American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), American Physical Society (APS), American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), Royal Aeronautical Society, Chinese Society of Aeronautics and Astronautics (CSAA), Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) and American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE). He has received many prestigious honors and national/international awards from various professional societies and organizations for his research contributions.


Prof. Hom Nath Dhakal

University of Portsmouth, UK

Biography: Professor Hom Nath Dhakal is a Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the School of Mechanical and Design Engineering, University of Portsmouth, UK. In addition, he is also a Docent (visiting) Professor of Bio-based materials at the Faculty of Textiles Engineering and Business, University of Borås, Sweden.
He leads the Advanced Polymers and Composites (APC) Research Group within the School of Mechanical and Design Engineering. His principal research interest lies in the design, development, testing and characterisation of sustainable lightweight composites, nanocomposites, natural fibre composites and biocomposites, including their mechanical (tensile, flexural, low-velocity impact, fatigue and fracture toughness), thermal and environmental properties (dimensional stability under various environmental conditions). Prof. Dhakal is currently leading key research projects within the APC Research Group including Interreg SeaBioComp and Interreg FLOWER.
He is a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (FHEA), Chartered Engineer (CEng), a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (FIET), Fellow of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3) (FIMMM) and a member of the American Society for Composites (MASC).
He has been a guest editor for a number of journals and a member of the editorial board of the Composites Part C: Open-Access, Journal of Composites Science and the Material Chemistry section of the Journal of Molecules.
Professor Dhakal is the author/co-author of over 150 peer reviewed publications in the area of light weight sustainable composites and biocomposites for advanced engineering applications that have attracted high citations. ResearchGate score of Prof. Dhakal is 37.23, higher than 95% of all ResearchGate members’ scores.